History – Science Education

History - Science Education

The Department was established in 2011/2012 academic session following the approval of the University Senate. It was established to provide training in pedagogy to pre-service science teachers in order to foster critical thinking and scientific skills in the young minds.

Prof. U. N. Akanwa was appointed the first Head of the Department from 2011 to 2015. On 24th November 2015, Prof A. O. Ovute assumed the position of the headship of the Department. Currently, Dr. I.O. Eluwa holds this esteem position of responsibility since 19th of January, 2017. The Department took off with a total student enrolment of 120 for 2011/2012 academic session, and an initial number staff strength of 30; comprising 24 teaching and 6 non-teaching staff. As at 2016/2017 academic session, the Department has a total student enrolment of 614 and a staff strength of 30 (25 academic and 5 non academic staff)

The Department of Science Education offers courses leading to the award of degree of Bachelor in Science Education (BSc.Ed), Masters in Science Education and Doctor of Philosophy degree respectively in these areas:

  1. Biology Education
  2. Chemistry Education
  3. Computer Science Education
  4. Integrated Science Education
  5. Mathematics Education
  6. Physics Education
  7. Measurement and Evaluation (M.Ed. and Ph.D.


Email Address: scienceeducationmoua@gmail.com