History – Educational Management

History - Educational Management

The Department of EDUCATIONAL MANAGEMENT started as one of the six programmes (Educational Management, Adult and Continuing Education, Guidance Counselling, Business Education, Economics Education and Accounting Education) in the defunct Department of Educational Foundations in the former College of Agricultural and Science Education (CASE), Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. Establishment of the defunct Department had approval of the Senate on 4th June, 2014. In response to NUC Directives that such programmes were no longer being verified and accredited under a departmental name of “Educational Foundations” the programmes ready for resources verification were demerged and restructured in line with the National Universities Commission (NUC) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standard (BMAS). The six programmes in then Department of Education Foundations were restructured under three new proposed Departments viz:                                                                                                                                                         

1. Department of Adult and Continuing Education,                                                                                          

2. Department Educational Management 

3. Department of Psychology and Counselling .                                                                                  

The proposed Department of Educational Management houses three degree programmes namely: B. Sc. Business Education, B. Sc. Economics Education and B. Ed. Educational Management. While the first two programmes have no options, the B. Ed. Educational Management degree programme has five options as follows:                                                                                                                                     

a, B.Ed. Educational Management/Biology                                                                                                     

b, B.Ed. Educational Management/Economics,                                                                                                                    

c, B.Ed. Educational Management/Mathematics,                                                                                                                                 

d, B.Ed. Educational Management/Chemistry and                                                                                                        

e, B.Ed. Educational Management/Physics  

The senate of the University under the able chairmanship of Prof. H. O. Edeoga gave approval for establishment of the Department of Educational Management on 2nd October, 2015. That led to the renaming of the former College of Agricultural and Science Education (CASE) as College of Education (COED) where the new Department of Educational Management is today domiciled. Prof. Melody Ndidi Modebelu who was the former HOD of the then Department of Educational Foundations was reappointed as the pioneer Head of Department Educational Management while Prof. Nneka Augutina Umezulike remained the pioneer Dean of the College of Education.

The academic staff strength at the inception of the Department was 20 (four professors, one Associate Professor, one senior lecturer, two lecturer 1, eight lecturer 11, two Assistant Lecturer and two Graduate Assistant). There was also four support staff made up of the Departmental officer, Secretary, Clerical Officer and Messenger. Students’ enrolment from inception has risen from — (30 + -+- ) to —-(). The first batch of students for the programme was admitted in 2014/2015 academic session. The programme as at the year 2018, has students only at 400level and 300level due to delay/ challenges in resources verification and accreditation of the programmes.

Educational Management (EDM) Department was created out of the department of Educational Foundations on 4th June, 2014. It is one of the seven (7) departments created out of College of  Education (COED).The Department houses three (3) programmes viz:

·         Educational Management and Policy

·         Business Education

·         Economic Education